The Vine Schools Trust is a multi-academy trust and is the accountable body for all twenty three of its schools. Therefore, the overarching responsibility for the governance of the Trust and its schools lies with the Vine Board of Directors.  They fulfil the three core functions of governance:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

To enable the Directors to fulfil their responsibility eight regional Local School Boards work on their behalf and undertake delegated local governance of between two and four schools.  Community Boards in each school enable local support and provide information to enable good governance.

The key principle is that all three Boards together with Executive Leaders will provide an aspect of governance the other cannot as set out in this chart.

This model of governance is undertaken under delegated responsibility. For full details see below.

Governors Declaration of Business Interests

NameRoleAppointed ByDate of AppointmentBusiness DeclarationFamily Declaration
Charlotte LittleChair of Local Schools BoardTrust01/01/2022NoneNone
Andi JonesLocal Governor and Vice ChairTrust21/05/2020Teacher at Tendring Technical CollegeWife is the Headteacher of another school in the trust.
Lucy TurnerLocal GovernorTrust27/04/2021NoneNone
Yvonne CromeLocal GovernorTrust03/05/2022
Gemma SmithLocal GovernorTrust01/09/2020NoneNone
Mark Carter-TufnellHeadteacher – Mistley Norman and St OsythEx-Officio by Virtue01/09/2020Mayflower – First aid training – Owned by familyNone
Natasha BennettHeadteacher – Two VillageEx-Officio by Virtue01/01/2021NoneNone
Carole AdamsChair of Local Schools Board (Prior to Charlotte Little)Trust01/09/2020 (term ended 31/12/2021)NoneNone
Karen WallaceLocal GovernorTrust01/09/2020 (term ended 31/12/2021)NoneNone
Belinda GougeLocal GovernorTrust01/09/2020 (term ended 30/09/2021)NoneChildren attended St Osyth

Governors Meeting Attendance September 2021 to August 2022

Charlotte LittleChair of Local Schools BoardPresentPresentPresentPresentPresent
Andi JonesLocal Governor and Vice ChairPresentPresentPresentPresentApologies
Lucy TurnerLocal GovernorPresentPresentPresentPresentPresent
Yvonne CromeLocal GovernorN/AN/AN/AN/APresent
Gemma SmithLocal GovernorPresentNot PresentPresentPresentPresent
Mark Carter-TufnellHeadteacher – Mistley Norman and St OsythPresentPresentPresentPresentPresent
Natasha BennettHeadteacher – Two VillagePresentPresentApologiesPresentPresent
Carole AdamsChair of Local Schools Board (Prior to Charlotte Little)PresentPresentN/AN/AN/A
Karen WallaceLocal GovernorPresentPresentPresentPresentN/A
Belinda GougeLocal GovernorNot PresentN/AN/AN/AN/A